Tutorial: Seed Bead Snowflake DIY

I’m really getting into the holidays already. I’m all about anything christmas, holiday, snow, winter themed. I came across this great tutorial on pinterest for beading stars and after making a few, I thought I would try my hand at making a snowflake version.

You will need…

  • scissors
  • thread
  • beading needing
  • seed beads (I use size 11, but you can use any size)

20141114_030936

1. String on 12 beads.
2. Put the needle back through from the first bead, string through all again to form a loop.
3. Repeat step 2.

4. String on 3 beads. Skip the first bead in the ring, go through the next bead. This forms the first point of your snowflake.

5. Continue stringing 3 beads through every other bead.
6. Once you make it all the way around, you should have a six-pointed star / snowflake.

Now for the part that really makes it…

7. Thread up through two beads to the tip of the first point.
8. String 3 beads, pull needle through the top of the point. This form the 3-bead loop that really makes to look like a snowflake.

57a3181e-5b54-49cf-91e0-f1aa6cfaddd1

9. To move on to the next point, sew down through the next 2 beads to the base ring, then up through the next 2 beads after that, making your way back to the tip of the next point.

20141114_032544

10. Once you’ve made it back to the beginning, it’s time to tie it off. I use what I call a “magic knot.” I don’t know if it actually has a name, but that’s what I’m calling it. Basically, tie it once, as if you’re tying a regular knot, but when you tie the second time, wrap it twice instead of just once.  That’s it!

I hope all of that make sense. If you have questions, just leave a comment!
Happy beading!

20141114_033054

 

 

Leave a Reply

